Drunk Driving Penalties

alcohol

DWI-DUI Defense Lawyer for Experienced Criminal Defense in Suffolk County

New York Lawyer – Suffolk County

Long Island Attorney serving clients throughout Suffolk County, NY, including the East End  of Long Island from Riverhead to the Northfork and the Hamptons on the South Fork.

In New York, you are subject to stiff penalties if you plead guilty or are convicted of drunk driving (DWI-DUI). Due to the seriousness of the charges, it highly recommended you obtain legal  counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.


If you are arrested for drunk driving (DWI-DUI), it is in your best interests NOT to make any statements to the police or anyone else until you have consulted an experienced attorney. Call (631) 738-6761 for legal help with DWI or DUI charges. Visit our Initial Police Contact page for information about what to expect if you are pulled over for suspected driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Protecting Your Legal Rights

The New York Law Offices of Susan A. Kassel, P. C. provide experienced, aggressive defense for individuals charged with drunk driving in Suffolk County. When we agree to defend you, you can count on us to provide the best possible defense. We examine every aspect of your case closely, looking for mistakes or errors committed by the police. We understand the strengths and weaknesses of the prosecutor’s case, as well as your case. We take your charges and your driver’s license suspension as seriously as you do.

NY DWI-DUI Conviction Penalties

The following chart will give you an indication of the penalties you face if convicted, based upon the charges and your DUI-DWI history. Also, please visit our Drunk Driving License Suspension page for additional information about your license suspension or revocation, which is in addition to the penalties described below. Following a plea or conviction for drunk driving, and depending upon the offense committed and certain factors as indicated below, you face the following fines and jail sentences:

Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated A-DWI (.18 and higher Blood Alcohol Content [BAC])
Conviction Fine Only* Jail Sentence
1st Offense (Misdemeanor) Minimum $1,000 Maximum $2,500 Up to 1Year
2nd Offense Within 5 years (Class E Felony) Minimum $1,000 Maximum $5,000 Up to 4 Years; minimum 5 days in jail or 30 days of community service
3rd Offense or more Within 10 years (Class D Felony) Minimum $2,000 Maximum $10,000 Up to 7 Years; minimum 10 days jail or 60 days of community service
Driving While Intoxicated DWI (.08 and higher Blood Alcohol Content [BAC] or other evidence of intoxication) or Driving While Ability Impaired by a Drug DWI-Drug
Conviction Fine Only* Jail Sentence
1st Offense (Misdemeanor) Minimum $500 Maximum $1,000 Up to 1 Year
2nd Offense Within 10 years (Class E Felony) Minimum $1,000 Maximum $5,000 Up to 4 Years; minimum 5 days jail or 30 days of community service
3rd Offense or more Within 5 years (Class D Felony) Minimum $2,000 Maximum $10,000 Up to 7 Years; minimum 10 days jail or 60 days of community service
2nd Offense Within 10 years (Class E Felony) Minimum $1,000 Maximum $5,000 Up to 4 Years
3rd Offense or more Within 10 years (Class D Felony) Minimum $2,000 Maximum $10,000 Up to 7 Years
Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combination of Alcohol or Drugs DWAI-Combination
Conviction Fine Only* Jail Sentence
1st Offense (Misdemeanor) Minimum $500 Maximum $1,000 Up to 1 Year
2nd Offense Within 5 years (E Felony) Minimum $1,000 Maximum $5,000 Up to 4 Years
3rd Offense Within 10 years (D Felony) Minimum $1,000 Maximum $5,000 Up to 7 Years
Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol DWAI (more than .05 up to .07 Blood Alcohol Content [BAC])
Conviction Fine Only* Jail Sentence
1st Offense (Traffic Infraction) Minimum $300 Maximum $500 Up to 15 Days
2nd Offense Within 5 years (Traffic Infraction) Minimum $500 Maximum $750 Up to 30 Days
3rd Offense Within 10 years (Misdemeanor) Minimum $750 Maximum $1,500 Up to 180 Days
Zero Tolerance Drivers Under 21 (DMV administrative finding of .02 to .07 Blood Alcohol Content [BAC])
Civil Penalty Added Fee
1st Offense Minimum $125 $100 Suspension Termination Fee
2nd Offense Minimum $125 $100 Re-Application Fee

* Conviction fine only. Does not include mandatory conviction surcharge or crime victims assistance fee. Mandatory Screening – If you are charged with or convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses, the courts will order alcohol screening and/or alcohol evaluation, prior to sentencing.

Contact an Experienced Suffolk County Criminal Defense Attorney

In DWI-DUI proceedings, the sooner you retain a lawyer, the sooner we can start mounting an aggressive DWI-DUI defense and the better our changes of obtaining an acquittal or more favorable plea bargain. It costs you nothing to arrange a free confidential consultation with us to discuss your drunk driving charges, and you are at no obligation to retain our services. For trusted legal counsel and aggressive representation, please schedule your consultation by calling 631-738-6761 today. If you prefer, you can also fill out our intake form and we will contact you to schedule an appointment.

Contact Us

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Phone

Subject

Your Message

captcha

Call (631) 738-6761

Cheetah on the prowl

SK-logo-light